One Hundred Push Up Challenge

One of my fitness goals this year is to achieve 100 push ups.

I do quite a few push up routines at my twice-weekly personal training sessions, but apart from the general improvement to strength and endurance you’d expect to get from those exercises, I haven’t been doing anything specific to build up my numbers.

Until now.

Last week I came across the excellent Hundred Push Ups Training Program and thought, ‘Why not?’

And of course, as soon as Wakes got a sniff of the words ‘fitness’ and ‘challenge’, she was in too.

Both of us did 50 in our initial test on Wednesday. I’ll keep you posted on our progress.

The site tailors for all levels of fitness – so even if you can do less than 10 pushups at the moment, there is a program to help you build this up over a period of weeks.

Let me know if you decide to take up the challenge.

9 Responses to One Hundred Push Up Challenge

  1. Steve says:

    50 is insane for the initial challenge! It took me 2 weeks to build up to 48 in the exhaustion test…

    You’re going to do great. Keep up the good work,

    –Steve
    –www.hundredpushups.com

  2. pear says:

    Thanks Steve.

    I checked out your Run Bulldog Run site – looks great

  3. Skinful says:

    I’m afraid I’ll be declining to join in this. If it was a 100 pints or a 100 pies count me in then.

  4. col gray says:

    Piece of cake Bruce Clarke – I’m already doing half of that in my daily routine of 500 skips, 50 push ups, 8km cycle, 6 pots and hello sirs.

  5. dgesfootytalk says:

    I’m with you Skinful – why can’t these personal trainers ever come up with a competitive 100 pie eating contest?

  6. Mark says:

    50 is awesome – I just signed up and barely managed 31 in the initial test.

  7. pear says:

    Hi Mark

    Thanks for dropping by a leaving a comment. Your 31 is still pretty impressive. I’ve been seeing a personal trainer for a few months now and we do plenty of pushup routines in our sessions, which explains myh initial 50.

    BTW, my latest max was 59 (yesterday) at the end of the Week 2, Day 1 workout.

    BC

  8. rjleaman says:

    Ha, I win the sloth contest! Just sworn in to start the challenge today, with a staggeringly unimpressive 12 pushups in the initial test. And they were even the girly kid, where you go on your knees… How’s that for setting the bar good and low? 😀 Onward and upward, right?

  9. Jacob A says:

    I am taking the challenge. Cleared week 1 today. I will do the first two weeks on a crash-course basis (i.e. daily) then can slow down from week 3.
    Cheers.
    Jacob

Leave a Reply

