Short Story – Stranded

//www.flickr.com/photos/26432027@N00/167118691/

Photo credit: LovelyV

One of my subjects this year is Short Story Online.

I was a bit nervous about entering the big, scary world of fiction writing – I reckon the last time I wrote any pure fiction was back in High School. (Obviously this excludes tall stories, sledging of mates, creative accounting and Bledisloe tour profiles).

Anyway, this story was the first exercise we had to submit for assessment this year. We had to write about a situation where three people were thrown together in some way. We had to invent a crisis and show how it affects the characters. Then two of the characters have to get away from the other one, and we had to write about what they do next and how they see the third character. All in 800 words.

I was pretty happy with how it turned out. Let me know what you think.

Stranded

8 Responses to Short Story – Stranded

  1. Linnet says:

    Dude! That is a fantastic piece of writing. I wish I’d had more like that to read when I did Short Story 1! Well done.

  2. col gray says:

    Yeah – pretty powerful stuff Bruce Clarke.

    P.S have you ever seen Wolf Creek?

  3. pear says:

    Thanks guys, appreciate your support.

  4. Skinful says:

    It was a bit too cheerful. Couldn’t have you improved the mood a bit by having the survivors contract painful terminal cancer?

  5. pear says:

    Skinful – I will definitely be working on some lighter material later in the year.

    PS – My latest story, currently in draft form, is about a person who has killed an old lady on a pedestrian crossing.

  6. col gray says:

    I think I know (knew) that old lady.

  7. Malcolm G says:

    I thought it was pretty good. Great last line.

  8. Scott says:

    They should have just wound the window down to keep cool….Onya mate

Leave a Reply

