Oh George! Oh Martha!

romance.jpg

Surprising things I learned tonight from our guest speaker, romance writer and president of Romance Writers of Australia, Anne Gracie:

  • 54% of the fiction sold in America is romance fiction;
  • There is a sub-genre within romance fiction which focuses on NASCAR racing. I kid you not.

And before I get heckled by resident Write On! heckler, Skinful – no I am not considering a career in romantic fiction.

But if you are interested in chasing the romance market, you could do worse than hook up with Anne’s organisation, Romance Writers of Australia.

3 Responses to Oh George! Oh Martha!

  1. col gray says:

    …And before I get heckled by resident Write On! heckler, Skinful – no I am not considering a career in romantic fiction.

    Following your recent article about “Fartman” I would have thought that you have romantic fiction down pat Bruce Clarke…

  2. Skinful says:

    If there can be a NASCAR sub-genre why not start your own one about AFL? Just don’t mention Essendon unless you are after the gay fiction niche.

    “resident heckler” – I’m honoured!

  3. roaf says:

    Wow! I might actually attempt to write a romance paperback. I’m not sure if I’m capable, though. I’d probably get two pages in start writing in explosions, car chases and dick jokes.

Leave a Reply

