Dgtec DG-SD160DVR Driver

DGTEC users can download driver DMN8600.CUB directly from the Boxnet widget in the right sidebar of my blog.

Wakes and I have had a DGTEC set top box/PVR/DVD recorder for about 18 months now, and generally it has performed to expectations, though always a little clunkily.

From time to time we’ve experienced screen freezes, necessitating a cold boot to get things going again. The user interface is pretty clunky and the manual is written by someone whose first language is patently not English. I also knew from my experiences in getting started with the product that the on-line support offering was barely non-existent.

So in the back of my mind I was always dreading the day when something went wrong that couldn’t be fixed with a reboot.

I mentioned this to my friend Charlie the other day – tempting fate you might say – and sure enough two days later we completely lost sound on the digital TV signal passing though the device.

As expected, there was no on-line support provided by DGTEC. A few techie forums mentioned problems with their device that a firmware upgrade had fixed, but of course the driver was not available anywhere on line.

So I had to call DGTEC’s Australian support line 1800 189 941, and spent a pleasant hour one night listening to their recorded message telling me they would get to my call shortly. I got nervous when the time ticked closer to their 8pm support close, then even more so when it reached 8.15pm. I gave up at about 8.20pm and tried again the next night. Another 45 minutes on hold before I got to speak with a human, who immediately diagnosed that the first point of call was a firmware upgrade that he would email me. Gee, do you think?

Anyway, I uploaded the firmware and it installed as per the instructions – only problem was, it didn’t fix my sound error.

What did eventually solve my problem was to run the ‘Reset to Factory Defaults’ option in the System Set-up menu.

So anyway, I’ve decided to post the driver here to spare any other DGTEC users the frustration of spending wasted hours on the phone, just because a technology company is too stupid or too lazy to provide such a basic service to their users.

DGTEC users can download driver DMN8600.CUB directly from the Boxnet widget in the right sidebar of my blog.

The instructions for this file are:

1) Using a burning software such as Nero, burn the CUB file onto an empty 700MB CD disc or a 4.7gb DVD disc.
2) Make sure the disc is finalised.
3) Place the freshly burned disc into the tray of the DVR and wait for it to load.
4) Once the DVR reads the disc, it will recognise that it contains new software.
5) When prompted if you wish to upgrade, please confirm.
6) The upgrading will take a few minutes to complete.
7) When finished, eject disc and continue with normal operations.

NOTE: If the DVR does not automatically prompt you to update when the disc is inserted, please use the source button to go to another source and then return to DVD. This will force the DVR to re-read the disc.

Note, the address of the support guy who sent me the upgrade is miguelmartinez@dgtec.com.au. Again, top marks to DGTEC for not even providing an email support address for their products.

7 Responses to Dgtec DG-SD160DVR Driver

  1. John says:

    Many thanks for that! Yes, the DGTEC is clunky, but it works most of
    the time, and the price was right.

  2. pear says:

    Hi John

    Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment.

    I’m glad the driver was useful.

    We’re finding the same – clunky, price right, works most of the time.

    We just keep getting a screen freeze when we turn the TV on first time at night, a quick reboot and it seems to go OK after that. Just makes me worry that one day it will freeze up and die forever.

  3. DARWIN says:

    THIS DVD DGTEC RECORDER GIVES ME HEAPS OF DRAMAS
    I SET UP TIMERS FOR ALL MY MUST SEE TV .
    LAST NIGHT IT WAS SET TO RECORD CHANNEL SEVEN FOR 3 HOURS HOWEVER NEXT DAY WENT TO HAVE A LOOK IT RECORDED FOR 1MIN AND 15 SECONDS ONLY, THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME HEAPS OF TIMES. I OFTEN JOKE, I ONLY WATCH PROGRAMS THE THE MACHINE DECIDES I CAN WATCH. IVE PUT IN THE REBOOT CD AROUND LAST NOV 07 IS THIS A NEWER VERSION, ANY THING ELSE YOU SUGGEST. THIS PROBLEM IS DIFFICULT B/C IT DOESNT HAPPEN EVERY TIME.

  4. pear says:

    Hi Darwin

    We are still experiencing sporadic screen freezes – sometimes we have no problems for a couple of weeks, and other times it seems like it happens every day. The version of the driver I posted was the latest version as at Feb 08. I haven’t tried to obtain a later version – spending three nights on hold to their service centre last time I had problems has pretty much put me off relying on DGTEC’s “Customer Service”.

    Generally when we get the screen freeze, we do a cold reboot (ie turn off at power supply) – this gets things up and running again but obviously doesn’t help with programs you wanted to record that you missed due to system freezing up.

    Good luck

    BC

  5. van says:

    Hi
    I bought this HT160DVR for my dad a few years ago and he is very happy with it. last month the remote controler was accidentally smashed and it is un-repairable, can you please tell me where to buy the remote control for this. thanks.

  6. pear says:

    Hi Van

    Maybe check out a universal remote controller such as Logitech
    http://www.logitech.com/en-au/remotes
    You can get them at JB Hi Fi

    Good luck

Leave a Reply

