Mona and me

One of these guys took over five hours to run a marathon. The other one didn’t…

mona-and-i.jpg

For those who don’t know, the skinny one is former Australian marathon champion Steve Moneghetti.

I was lucky enough to hear Steve speak at a conference last week. He spoke brilliantly without notes for 45 minutes; not an ‘umm’ or ‘aah’ or ‘y’know’ to be heard. And his speech had been tailored specially for our group, so it’s not as if he just memorised a generic speech. Amazing bloke.

BTW, he let slip that in his prime years he trained about 8,500 km in a year. Wakes and I covered around 900km in training for our Marathon. No wonder it took us so long.

3 Responses to Mona and me

  1. clarkebruce says:

    I am a bit embarrassed to admit there appears to be a little arse-grabbing going on in my photo. And not for the first time, if I’m not mistaken.

    Just thought I’d get in first.

  2. clarkebruce says:

    Also, is it just me, or is Mona’s pose a little bit ‘Carson’?

  3. col gray says:

    Am I seeing things or does Mona’s pose carry a woodie?

Leave a Reply

