Am I asinine?

into_the_wild.jpg

I thought my review of the new movie Into the Wild was pretty good and I was pleased that The Scene saw fit to publish it.

The Scene emailed to let me know my piece was live, so I followed the link (I still get a buzz out of seeing my own byline), only to be confronted by the following anonymous comment:

What an asinine review.

Before I got too upset, the first thing I had to do was find out what ‘asinine’ meant. (Hopefully it didn’t mean ‘someone who doesn’t know the meaning of a lot of words’; otherwise I’d have just proven my critic’s point).

Anyway, I looked it up in my Macquarie Dictionary and found out it means ‘stupid and obstinate’. Some who know me might think those words describe me perfectly, but I was struggling to work out how you could possibly write an obstinate movie review.

So I looked it up on-line and got this: devoid of good sense or judgment; “foolish remarks”; “a foolish decision”.

That makes a lot more sense.

(I was pleased that a few later commentors have flown the flag on my behalf). Check out my review and let me know what you think.

PS – I was going to respond to my critic, but only got as far as:

‘Dear Anonymous (if that is your real name)…’

8 Responses to Am I asinine?

  1. Karen says:

    What a wimp, leaving an anonymous comment. If they aren’t willing to put their names to them, their comments aren’t worth reading, in my opinion.
    Cheers, K

  2. Skinful says:

    From your review the film sounds like a boring and pretentious load of wank.

    Your review catches this mood perfectly.

    Cheers
    Skinful (not anonymous)

  3. Linnet says:

    How rude people are.

    PS I’d love to read a continuation of your riposte!

  4. clarkebruce says:

    Thanks for your support Karen and Linnet. I’d expect nothing less from my CAE buddies.

    As for you Skinful, I’d expect nothing less from one of my Hash Haus Harriers buddies.

    Stand by for a continuation of my riposte, Linnet. By the way, are you in India yet?

  5. […] Yesterday I wrote about the sledging I copped about my asinine movie […]

  6. Linnet says:

    Leaving for India on the 13th. Woohoo!

  7. roaf says:

    I’ve been called asinine on more than one occasion, myself. Don’t let the buggers get you down!

  8. Jase Pine says:

    This post is awesome, nice work!

Leave a Reply

