A great start (not)

champagne.jpg

Seeing as I’ve just clocked up an unwanted Personal Best in the body weight department, I thought it was time I gave Wakes’ personal trainer a try.

This morning was my first full session and I was pleased to get through the whole hour alive. Just.

For the rest of the day I felt like I’d spent last night alone in a cell with a guy called ‘Bubba’.

Part of the PT routine is to keep a daily food diary, and I was determined to be on my best behaviour. Surely I could go at least one day without falling off the wagon?

Well, the good intentions lasted about one hour. As soon as I got to work we had a management meeting, mainly to pat each other on the back for last Saturday’s brilliant Cox Plate. At the end of the meeting, the boss insisted we crack open a few bottles of champagne to celebrate our success. And insisted each of us join in.

So there you go – just about the first entry in my food diary is a 10.30am glass of champagne.

Bravo…

8 Responses to A great start (not)

  1. roaf says:

    “For the rest of the day I felt like I’d spent last night alone in a cell with a guy called Bubba.”
    Yikes! What kind of a gym is this?

  2. clarkebruce says:

    I knew I was in trouble when he promised to be gentle with me, seeing as it was my first time…

  3. Brett says:

    What a great way to start!! If you’re gonna break the rules, then break ’em!

  4. Skinful says:

    How good is your PB weight? Is it up to Skinful standards?

  5. col gray says:

    I hope you are still pumping the BIG weights at the gym Bruce Clarke –

    Somehow I think you Bubba are gunna be good mates.

    I’m sure he’d like champaign too…

  6. Linnet says:

    I’m sure champagne has fewer calories than breakfast!

  7. Fiona Read says:

    You can’t start a food diary or diet in the middle of Spring Carnival. What are you thinking!

  8. clarkebruce says:

    Brett – the worst thing is, our Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival kicks off tomorrow – I already have 4 days of debauchery planned over the next week.

    Skinful – sorry, but I haven’t hit 150kg yet.

    Col – ready to welcome you back to the gym any day of the week

    Linnet – How about beer? If I drink Crownies all through Derby Day but don’t eat anything, will I be OK?

    Fiona – I am an idiot. I am going to write in my diary “Beer – one or two”

Leave a Reply

