Man Card Violation?

A simple question for my readers: is it unmanly to own a pair of slippers?

At the moment in Melbourne it is officially cold. As cold as I can remember it being. As cold as a hair on a polar bear’s arse. As cold as a mother-in-law’s kiss (sorry Pam). As cold as a witch’s tit. You get the picture.

Anyway, these last few nights, the cold has been rising up through our floating floorboards, and my feet, clad only in thin socks, have been freezing. Frostbite material. (Think Mr Deeds and the fire poker. “The hideousness of that foot will haunt my dreams forever, sir”).

I mentioned casually to Wakes that perhaps I needed to get a pair of slippers. After all, she is never, ever seen indoors without her slippers.

She thought the idea of me buying my own pair was hilarious. ‘Let’s go to K-Mart this very instant, before you change your mind!’ There was much jocularity and suggestions of the types of slippers I might purchase.

Like:

Homer Slippers or Slippers 2

or Slippers 3

So now I’m in a quandry. Do I put up with cold feet, or do I run the gauntlet of wifely torment, and buy myself some nice, warm, comfy, slippers? What sort should I get? Will it make me less of a man?

Over to you readers, and please, be gentle.

11 Responses to Man Card Violation?

  1. Scott says:

    To my knowledge, real men don’t wear slippers. Thick socks are fine, however.

  2. clarkebruce says:

    Last night I resorted to thin socks underneath my sports sandals. Very Christian, I thought.

  3. Scott says:

    Flanders!

  4. quone says:

    Pink Ugg boots a la Kath and Kim.

  5. clarkebruce says:

    @ Quone – good idea, that will mean I can keep my feet warm and retain my masculinity.

  6. Skinful says:

    “Last night I resorted to thin socks underneath my sports sandals. Very Christian, I thought.”

    Socks and sandals? Is your secret desire to become a Pom manifesting itself?

  7. clarkebruce says:

    Skinful – I will be in the UK in two weeks time, mid-summer, perfect opportunity to mingle with the sandal and sock wearing locals down at Brighton ‘beach’.

  8. Steve says:

    I like slippers. They are easy to put on and take off. In fact I have several pairs because I leave them all wherever I am going… (bad habit!). I have never connected masculinity with the slippers until today! I feel more masculine than ever. If I have to philosophize, there are some things that are common to both man and woman. Pursuit of happiness, love, and slippers! Go Get ‘Em!

  9. Skinful says:

    Brighton Beach? Very much a rules 1 & 6 violation.

    The plot thickens…

  10. Col Gray says:

    Poof.

  11. […] The other day I asked whether it was a Man Card Violation to wear slippers around the house in cold […]

Leave a Reply

