My Best Prank – by Popular Demand

The other day I posted Prank of the Day, which turned out to be one of the most popular posts I’ve made on this site.

My mate Skinful subsequently reminded me of a prank I played on one of our Hash House Harrier colleagues when we were living in PNG.

Basically, I came across an advertisement in the local Post Courier newspaper from a woman in Ghana named Esther Lovely Kinful, who was looking for a pen pal in PNG. She listed amongst her hobbies “marriage and exchange of love letters”.

Immediately I thought of my mate Subza, who was single at the time, and knowing the bashful sort of chap he was, I decided to set Cupid on the path of our two star crossed lovers.

This letter is the one I sent to Esther on behalf of Subza: Esther part 1

This letter is her response: Esther part 2

By way of explanation, Subza worked as a sales manager at Colgate, hence the reference to toothpaste factory.

Also, B.W. stands for ‘black wings’. If you have to ask, you don’t want to know.

The photo was one I found lying around the office at the time. Neither of the two guys pictured is Subza.

As you can imagine, Subza was quite confused when he received the letter from Esther out of the blue. It took a fair bit of investigative work on his part to uncover the genesis of Esther’s undying love.

I hope you enjoy this as much as I did at the time.

Apologies to Esther if she happens to Google herself at some stage in the future and finds out about this prank. No such apologies to Subza, he deserves everything he gets!!!

6 Responses to My Best Prank – by Popular Demand

  1. Skinful says:

    Great stuff but you have linked to the same file twice.

    Thanks for pointing that out. Now fixed. BC

  2. Scott says:

    Excellent!

  3. vintagefan says:

    NAUGHTY.

    Who in heaven’s name puts marriage as a ‘hobby’?
    Unless you like pretending to be married every once in a while.

  4. clarkebruce says:

    Liz Taylor is about the one who springs to mind!

    Thanks for dropping by.

  5. Subza says:

    A blast from the past – when I wrote left handed…

    Esther’s dad not impressed with my offer of a pair of expired KT26’s & a Lae HHH- 1994 season(ed) running singlet as “bride” price.

    Further mail forwarded to Skinful…

  6. pear says:

    Nice one Subza. KT26s – the Nike Air of PNG…

Leave a Reply

