Flying in PNG

During my stint in Papua New Guinea (1994-97) , I was fortunate enough to do a bit of flying in light aircraft.

Generally this was as a passenger, however there were a couple of memorable (for me) and terrifying (for the passengers) occasions when I was handed the controls. More on that one day.

Some of my mates from Lae Hash House Harriers were pilots with North Coast Aviation and were happy to let freeloaders like me tag along for the ride if there was room.

Much of the flying was on the ‘milk run’, dropping off and picking up passengers and cargo at remote villages in Morobe Province. The airstrips were generally grass and some of them ran right to the edge of cliffs.

I’ve saved a few of my better photos over here.

A big hello to my ex HHH buddies Pimp, Pox, Biggles, Toejam, Porridge and Goose, who I am sure continue to abide by the ‘eight hour bottle to throttle’ rule somewhere in the world.

2 Responses to Flying in PNG

  1. Skinful says:

    With your new found writing skills I was hoping for a vivid description of the effects of trying to chunder out of the window in mid flight.

  2. clarkebruce says:

    You will have to wait for that one. It’s on my to-do list.

    Cheers

    BC

Leave a Reply

