Gruntled and consolate – a story using non-standard negations

It had been a rough day, so when I walked into the party I was very chalant, despite my efforts to appear gruntled and consolate.

I was furling my wieldy umbrella for the coat check when I saw her standing alone in a corner. She was a descript person, a woman in a state of total array. Her hair was kempt, her clothing shevelled, and she moved in a gainly way.   Click here to read the full story.

The original story, entitled ‘How I Met My Wife’ is attributed to Jack Winter of The New Yorker. I came across it on an excellent site for linguistic humour, Ojohaven. It contains links to a lot of fun articles on the English language, and may be of use to English and grammar teachers as a resource to make learning a little more fun for their students.

I actually stumbled across Ojohaven when I was looking for a cheat to help me finish a crossword I was doing. The site has an excellent crossword solver utility that lets you key in the length of the word and the letters you have already solved, and it will give you a list of options to help with your deliberations.

 

One Response to Gruntled and consolate – a story using non-standard negations

  1. Rebecca Malcomson says:

    Your blog is a useful one! Generally whenever i visit blogs, I just encounter shit, but this occassion I was really surprised while i got your website containing great information. Thanks mate and keep this effort up.

Leave a Reply

