Success – I think…

My blog has been up and running for a week now, and I’ve been checking my stats regularly to see whether by some miracle anybody has actually visited or left a comment.

I was pretty excited today to check my emails this afternoon and see two comment notifications waiting for me. Unfortunately both comments were from friends/relatives and both were of an abusive nature. So I won’t give A1 Laser Repairs or Don Gray Electrical Supplies a plug. Bastards.

Anyway, that got me interested in checking the Blog Feed stats for my site, and I was very happy to note that someone had actually navigated here from Google using keyword search ‘WW2 500 words’. Which I guess proves that the mechanism for cataloging blog entries from WordPress is working as promised. I then checked Google using keyword ‘Bruce Clarke blog’ and this site came up as first hit. Woo hoo. I then checked my wife’s internet site (Wakelin Solutionz) to see whether that came up on Google. Nada, even though the site has been live for several years. So I guess that all goes to prove WordPress is not a bad place for your site to be hosted.

So the plan now is to set up a blog site for Wakelin Solutionz to see whether that will help with her Google rankings.

6 Responses to Success – I think…

  1. EelKat says:

    my blog was on BlogSpot (owned by Google) for several years… in that time it never got more than 100 hits, and even though owned by Google, it never came up in any of the Google searches… on February 16, this year I found WordPress… I moved my entire blog from BloSpot to WordPress and now a month and a half later it has had more than 5,000 visitors! I couldn’t believe it! I am so glad I changed hosts, now my blog is coming up in tons of Google searches… it’s amazing!

    ~EK

  2. clarkebruce says:

    That clinches it – I’m definitely going to set up a WordPress site for my wife.

    BTW I checked out your site and it looks great. You are one busy girl!

  3. colin gray says:

    Thanks for the ‘anti plug’ on Don Gray Electrical Supplies Bruce Clarke.
    I fear though that dire forces are at work here.
    I hereby genuinely contribute to your Blog by announcing that the abusive comments you accuse me of were in fact submitted by someone using my name as an alias with dastardly intensions. I trust this little misunderstanding in no way damages the business relationship we have always enjoyed and you can continue to purchase your batteries, globes and electrical components from our store with all the verve and gusto of our previous business dealings.
    Regards Col Gray.

  4. quotes says:

    Be careful about setting up a blog here for that company.

    WordPress.com has some strict guidelines for these free hosted blogs.

    Also, thanks for the excellent reference you left in a comment on

    http://spelling.wordpress.com/

    That link:http://www.wakelinsolutionz.com.au/ site could certainly use more inbound links. Google has none, MSN has none, Yahoo has six internal and none external.

  5. clarkebruce says:

    Thanks for your feedback. I’m new to all this, didn’t realise about the restrictions on linking to other sites. Makes sense, though, I’ll fix it today.

    Thanks for your information on the wakelin solution links.

    BC

  6. HelloWorld says:

    Peace people

    We love you

Leave a Reply

